Thrift Item of the Moment Revisited #2

I’m revisiting some of my favorite “Thrift Item of the Moment” posts from my previous blog Bowling Trophy. The original text is reprinted with More! Bigger! photos and Updates!

“How to Draw” Books (originally posted April 1, 2007)

howtodraw011

No. 11 – “How To Draw Horses”

howtodraw011_spread

No. 11 – “How to Draw Horses” front and back cover spread

I’m not a visual artist, but I’m really drawn (sorry) to the Walter Foster “How to Draw” books. They’re large and beautiful and the pages are crammed with luscious color illustrations, black and white sketches and a bare minimum of helpful instructional text.

howtodraw011_p08

howtodraw011_p34

howtodraw11_p38

Reading these books I can almost believe that with a few lines and circles and a little bit of shading I too can draw a horse/leaping buck/tastefully disrobed woman.

howtodraw078

No. 78 – “How to Draw and Paint Hoofed Animals”

howtodraw096

No. 96 – “The Nude”

howtodraw096_back

No. 96 – “The Nude” back cover

I’m not sure when they were published because they’re not dated, but my guess would be late 50s or early 60s. The earlier ones (I presume) have a cover price of $1.00 (“Not more than $1.25 in any foreign country”) and later ones are priced $2.00. I bought How to Draw Horses last week for 69¢.

howtodraw026

No. 26 – “Animation”

My sentimental favourite is Animation by Preston Blair. I loved it as a lad and was delighted to find it again recently.

howtodraw026_back

No. 26 – “Animation” back cover

My career as a cartoonist never happened but I wonder how many animators were spawned by this book.

howtodraw026_p09

howtodraw026_p16

howtodraw026_p22

howtodraw026_p35

Update:

This post has probably brought more visitors to Bowling Trophy than anything else I’ve posted – variations of “how to draw horses” are a perennial search term leader.

Here are a couple more “How To Draw” books I’ve added to the collection in the intervening years:

howtodraw001

No. 1 – “Drawing Simplified”

howtodraw09

No. 9 – “How to Draw and Paint Seascapes”

Next time: Drumheller dinos.

One thought on “Thrift Item of the Moment Revisited #2

  1. This series should have been titled “How to draw anything with circles”. It is not so popular a teaching method any more. When I was little I had “How to Draw and Paint Seascapes”. I remember poring over it for hours – partly because I was a budding artist and partly because I was a
    land-locked prairie girl. So exotic.

Leave a Reply

