The Culling: 45 RPM

This is my first time sorting my 7″ 45 rpm records – I never got around to it during the first record cull a few years back. It’s not a large collection – only a few hunded after I culled this lot:

stacko45s

I didn’t try to impose too much order – most records I classified under the broad heading of “pop/rock” unless they clearly weren’t. I also created a few oddball categories that don’t exist in my album collection – “advertising/promotional” (which I’ll post about later), “Beatles tributes recorded in 1964”, “the worst Canadian singles of all time” and so on. Here are some oddities from my collection of 45s:

StarTrekkin

The Firm: Star Trekkin’ picture disc

magical_mystery01

The Beatles: Magical Mystery Tour

magical_mystery02

Two 7″ EPs in a gatefold sleeve with booklet – like a miniature version of the album.

magical_mystery03

ItsASmallWorld

It’s A Small World picture disc

Mercury

Introduction To Manned Mercury Spaceflight

This opaque yellow plastic record came with Hasbro’s G.I. Joe astronaut and space capsule toy in 1966.  The flipside of the record is “actual Mercury spaceflight communications”.

xtabay01

Yma Sumac: Voice of the Xtabay

xtabay02

Four 7″ singles in box.

Trex

T. Rex: Jeepster b/w Life’s A Gas picture label

2 thoughts on “The Culling: 45 RPM

Leave a Reply

